University

Exam Preparation

If your course is anything like mine, returning to university after the christmas break signals exam time. I have 2 exams in January which count to my final 1st year grade. I hate feeling unprepared, so here’s my go to plan for smart revision and exam success!

Making Time

Finding the time to dedicate to study can sometimes be the first hurdle to getting work done, especially over the busy christmas period. Plan out your weeks, and include slots for revision time on perhaps 4 days of the week for several hours at a time (making sure you have a break!). If you need more revision time, just use your free time for it!

Revision Strategies

Now I’m at university level study, I feel I’ve had a lot of time to experiment with different learning strategies through GCSE’s, A Levels and other exams. For me, one of the most effective techniques is writing out colourful notes. If you’re a visual learner like me, this is a go to technique. Condensing your notes is a good way to keep key information and facts in one place. I usually also dedicate flash cards to a specific topic or lecture, and put all the most important information on, it makes revision that little bit less stressful and boring if it’s colourful and just streams of writing!

Taking Breaks

It’s important to take regular breaks when revising, sitting staring at your revision notes for too long will not be a productive use of your time, you’ll just get bored and sleepy! It’s recommended to do revision in 30-45 minute chunks, then taking a break of around 15-20 minutes. I usually follow a similar timed schedule, and I feel 45 minutes is more than enough time to hold your concentration. I find a good use of my break time between revision chunks is getting food, going for a walk or even just stretching. It’s good to get out of your revision space, get some fresh air and refuel to go back to your work with a fresh mind.

Music

I often find myself to be most productive and concentrating hard when I have the distractions of daily life blocked out whilst I’m revising. The music doesn’t need to have lyrics, youtube and Spotify have plenty of playlists and videos of concentration music, as sometimes lyrics can be distracting.

Thanks for reading, and have a Merry Christmas!

Yasmin x